Certification for those who have passed a CNA course (or are CNA registered) to certify for medication administration. Scroll down for course details and click here for our current enrollment catalog. Times listed in registration include zoom sessions, click register for full details.
Minnesota State Approved Trained Medication Administration (TMA) Hybrid class program. 48 hours of online instruction with a live instructor via zoom with some lab days in person per the schedule below. Click register to see the full schedule.
This course will review the information required for unlicensed personnel to administer medications while under the direction and supervision of a licensed registered nurse. You will learn legal and ethical issues related to medication administration, body systems and medications for each, administration of non-parenteral medication, and other required skills.
A Trained Medication Aide (TMA) Certificate is earned upon completion of the course and meeting all course guidelines.
Per State of Minnesota Administrative Rule 4658.1360 subpart 2, Individuals who wish to work as a TMA in a skilled nursing home or licensed boarding care facility must be on the Nursing Assistant Registry and have completed a Minnesota Department of Health Approved Nursing Assistant program. Documentation of completion of approved course is required on the first day of class.
- 48 hours in length – This includes zoom sessions, self-study and lab days including a final lab testing day. Clicking register will allow you to see all of the course information.
- In-person sessions take place once a week at the location listed on registration (Mankato or Eagan MN). More details can be seen when you click register.
- Payment is due on registration
- Participants must have completed a nursing assistant training program approved by the Department of Health and be at least 16 years old.
- Equipment and training materials will be provided for all participants. Information on study books will be provided via email.
- Due on registration
Disclosure, Cancellation and Refund Policy:
Required Disclosure Statement: MN STATUTE 136A.828 Subd. 1. A school, agent, or solicitor may represent
in advertisements and shall disclose in catalogues, applications, and enrollment materials that the school is duly
licensed by the state by prominently displaying the following statement:
“HeartCert is licensed as a private career school with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.821 to 136A.832. Licensure is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions.”
If your application is rejected, you will receive a full refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges. You will be entitled to a full refund of tuition, fees, and other charges if you give notice that you are cancelling your enrollment within 5 days of being accepted into the school or program This five-day refund policy applies regardless of when the program starts. If you give notice more than 5 days after you signed the contract, but before the start of the program (or first lesson for an online distance education program), you will receive a refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges minus 15%, up to $50, of the total cost of the program. If you withdraw after the start of your program and it has been more than 5 days after you were accepted into your program, you will receive a pro-rated refund of the entire cost of your program based on your last day of attendance. You will be provided a prorated tuition, fees, and other charges refund minus your initial application fees, up to $50, and minus the less or 25% of the total tuition or $100. Proration is based on whether your program is term-based or clock hours and how much of the program you have completed. If your program is term-based, the completion rate is the number of calendar days from the first date of the program through your last documented date of attendance divided by the length of the program. The completion rate is calculated to the second decimal point (.XX).
APPENDIX A If your program is clock-hour based, the completion rate is the number of clock hours you actually attended divided by the number of clock hours in the program. The completion rate is calculated to the second decimal point (.XX) If you withdraw from your program after 75.00% of the program has completed, you are not entitled to a refund of tuition, fees, and other charges. You will receive written notice acknowledging your withdraw request within 10 business days after receipt of the notice and you will receive a refund of any tuition, fees, and other charges within 30 business days of receipt of your withdrawal. Any mailed notice is effective of the date of the postmark if sent by mail or the day it has been hand delivered to the school. Notice to withdraw may also be given by email or verbally, including a voicemail, to a school official (defined by school’s Student Right to Cancel policy).
School official: To cancel contact: Tim Smith or delegate, 651-261-2314 firstname.lastname@example.org. If you do not withdraw in writing or contact the school about your absence, and you have not attended your program or contact the school about your absence for 14 consecutive days, you will be considered to have withdrawn from the school as of your last date of attendance. Your school is responsible for sending you a written notice of cancellation if you are withdrawn for failing to attend to your last known address. The confirmation from the school must state that the school has withdrawn you from enrollment, and if this action was not the student’s intent, the student must contact the school. Schools must include this clause if your school’s student catalog, contract, or enrollment agreement includes a separate statement on the fair market of the equipment and any of the equipment can be reasonably resold: “You may be entitled to a refund of your equipment and supplies costs if you return your equipment and supplies within 10 days of withdrawing if your supplies are in a condition suitable for resale. If you do not return your equipment and supplies or the supplies are not in a condition suitable for resale, this cost will be deducted from your tuition, fee, and other charge refund that you may be eligible for.”